Ken Young at TNW:
When someone’s Facebook account is “memorialized”, the page becomes inaccessible, meaning that you cannot view any of their photos, videos, Timeline postings, or anything. It’s frozen so that no one else can take the account. The problem here is that anyone can do it to one of their friends or family members — if they’re still alive.
Facebook has a special form for those interested in having an account memorialized. All you need is the name of the deceased person, their email address on record, profile URL, your relationship to the individual, and what your proof is that they’re no longer here. As Buzzfeed notes, you can get past the last part by simply looking online for another person’s obituary and link that.
Good to know that if I ever need to fake my own death I can get my Facebook account back.